Hall of Fame Results Announced

6 years ago
Poker Hall of Fame Results Announced
14 Oct

(Photo: Cardplayer.com)

Announcement that the 2016 Poker Hall of Fame inductees are to be Carlos Mortensen and Todd Brunson has met with a mixed reaction on the online forums.

The 51st and 52nd players to make the elite list of legendary people in the poker world were among those shortlisted by a public vote, and then chosen ahead of other nominees by a 44-member panel consisting of living Poker Hall of Famers and media representatives.

While Mortensen’s position as Spain’s all-time tournament money-winner with almost $12million in cashes spanning a 20-year career makes him an obvious choice for the Hall of Fame, the inclusion of Todd Brunson – son of the legendary Doyle Brunson – is less-easy to justify.

Over on 2+2 ‘Ace up my slv’ posted:

"Mortensen - No problem. Brunson - Really? The poker HOF was sort of a joke already, but this makes it completely irrelevant to me. Do you think Todd makes it if he had a different last name?” he asked. “I am sure he is a good player in the games he plays in, but we are talking about the HOF. A HOF is supposed to be made up of the greatest players of ALL TIME, along with those that had the most influence on the game and/or contributed the most towards the advancement of the game. Do you really think TB is one of the top 50 or so that fit into this category?”

Fellow forumite pocket_zeros was more succinct, writing:

"Todd Brunson, LOL.”

For his part, Brunson the younger stated:

"It’s a true honor to be inducted by my peers into this prestigious institution,” adding. “I literally grew up attending these ceremonies and have always respected and admired its members. To join their ranks is the honor of a lifetime.”

With $4.5 million in tournament winnings, over 50 WSOP cashes and a gold bracelet from back in 2005, Todd actually learned poker on his own rather than from his famous father, and although his tournament successes have been many, it’s his high-stakes cash game play for which he is best-known.

Nevertheless, his Hall of Fame ‘victory’ was less-than-obvious – being chosen ahead of the likes of Chris Bjorin, Humberto Brenes, Eli Elezra, Bruno Fitoussi, Chris Moneymaker, Max Pescatori, Matt Savage and David Ulliott.

Eli Elezra’s nomination was a contentious one. As ‘Ace up my slv’ added to his post:

"Also to even consider a player like Eli Elezra is blasphemy! Are they going to let in every broke fish, scumbag, degenerate gambler just because they were on TV a lot during the poker boom? Ever heard of right place, right time?”

Many had expected Dave ‘Devilfish’ Ulliott, who died earlier this year, to be rewarded for his poker career – but although a massive name in the UK poker scene he was perhaps not so well-known in the US.

Mortensen, meanwhile, has been a much-anticipated Hall of Fame member for years now – and he has finally got there!

"I have been playing poker professionally for more than 20 years,” said Mortensen. “This game has given me so many things that I have come to cherish. I’ve always wanted to be included among the great players who make up the Poker Hall of Fame. To be included with the legends makes me very happy.”

The 2001 Main Event winner, along with Brunson, will be inducted in a ceremony on the evening of Wednesday, October 26th at Binion’s Gambling Hall in Las Vegas and will also be honored before the beginning of the 2016 Main Event final table on October 30th.

Articles 2282

Andrew from Edinburgh, Scotland, is a professional journalist, international-titled chess master, and avid poker player.Read more


You need to be logged in to post a new comment

No Comments found.