Dietrich Fast Wins 2017 Asia Championship of Poker Super High Roller For $2,169,700

3 years ago
Dietrich Fast Wins 2017 Asia Championship of Poker Super High Roller For $2,169,700
24 Oct

German high-stakes pro Dietrich Fast’s $102,000 buy-in was returned 20-fold as he took down the 2017 Asia Championship of Poker Super High Roller in Macau this week, winning HK$16,690,000 (US$2,169,700) and fending off the challenge of players such as Bryn Kenney, Jason Koon and Paul Newey along the way.

The three-day event at the City of Dreams Casino had seen 79 entries, each forking out $800,000 HKD ($102,520 USD) and producing a prizepool of some HK$ 60,690,960 (US$7,777,881) – almost guaranteed to provide one player at least with the score of a lifetime.

For some of the players making the final table was the only way to turn a profit in the PokerStars Live Macau event, Bryn Kenney, Jason Koon and Steve O'Dwyer all re-entering the tournament at the start of Day 2, having been eliminated late on Day 1, according to the PokerStars blog, meaning they had each bought in for HK$1.6 million (US$205,000).

English businessman Paul Newey has fond memories of Macau, last year taking 3rd spot in the Super High Roller and 2nd in the High Roller, but this time round he had to settle for 9th, shoving his short stack in on only the second hand with KQ and coming up against Kenney’s medium ace, the board bricking and sending Newey to the rail.

Chinese high-roller Shan Huang seemed to be enjoying himself, returning to the rail after busting in 8th to offer chip leader and his ‘executioner’ Kenney a seat in a lucrative cash game – Jason Koon soon able to take his place instead as he feel in 7th, Isaac Haxton, Christoph Vogelsang, Adrian Mateos and Sergio Aido all waiting for some fresh blood in the next room.

When they eventually got down to heads-up, it was Fast looking to add yet another German name to the ridiculously long-list of high-roller successes over the past year or two, with ‘only’ Steve O’Dwyer between him and glory.

The 5:1 chip lead he held was cut almost immediately, but it was soon all over as the pair both found themselves with 2 pair, Fast’s slow play of a big hand heads-up paying off, landing him the title and the massive cash payday.

 Final table results

1Dietrich Fast 
2Steve O’Dwyer
3Tim Adams
4Daniel Dvoress
5Felix Bleiker
6Bryn Kenney
7Jason Koon
8Huang Shan
9Paul Newey

Articles 2093

Andrew from Edinburgh, Scotland, is a professional journalist, international-titled chess master, and avid poker player.Read more


You need to be logged in to post a new comment

No Comments found.