Phil Hellmuth Calls for his Boy Mike Matusow to be 2023 Poker Hall of Fame Inductee

3 months ago
Phil Hellmuth Calls for his Boy Mike Matusow to be 2023 Poker Hall of Fame Inductee
08 Jun

Phil Hellmuth has come out fighting for his “boy” Mike Matusow to be inducted into the Poker Hall of Fame, the 16-time WSOP bracelet winner hoping his old friend will soon join him in the hallowed halls...

Nominations are now open for the 2023 Poker Hall of Fame inductees, with poker fans encouraged to add their preferred players or organizers, and it’s clear where big Phil’s hopes are.

Once the top 10 nominees are decided, existing Poker Hall of Fame members will then cast their votes to determine the 2023 member.

The main criteria for the Poker Hall of Fame are as follows:

  • A player must have played poker against acknowledged top competition;
  • Played for high stakes;
  • Be a minimum of 40 years old at time of nomination;
  • Played consistently well, gaining the respect of peers;
  • Stood the test of time;
  • Or, for non-players, contributed to the overall growth and success of the game of poker, with indelible positive and lasting results.

Mike ‘the Mouth’ Matusow definitely fits most of those criteria, even if he no longer competes at the very highest level as often as he used to.

The legendary pro has won four WSOP gold bracelets as Hellmuth points out, his first in 1999 and his most recent in 2013, the year that Tom McEvoy and Scotty Nguyen were inducted. Many will be hoping that 2023 is Matusow’s year, with the #yearofthemouth trending on social media.

The honours system stretches back to 1979, when Nick “The Greek” Dandolos, James Butler “Wild Bill” Hickok, Edmond Hoyle, Johnny Moss, Red Winn, and Sid Wyman became the inaugural members of the PHoF,

The enshrinement ceremony is now held in concert with the final table of the Main Event of the WSOP, held in Las Vegas, but Matusow won’t the only one in the running for the accolade.

Kane Kalas opted for the long-running WSOP commentary duo:

“Nomination put in for @lonmceachern & @NormanChad. It’s time,” he tweeted.

Poker and chess queen, Jennifer Shahade, surprised some by tweeting: “First vote was for @MariaHo,” a quick check revealing that the Women in Poker Hall of Fame inductee turned the magic age earlier this year.

Although women have their own Hall of Fame to “celebrate excellence, contribution and performance” in the poker world, they are of course also eligible for the PHoF itself.

Jennifer Harman (2015), Linda Johnson (2011) and Barbara Enright (2007) have all not only made the grade as nominees, but also been voted in by their peers.

Meanwhile, Allen Kessler had ideas of his own as to who should be honoured in 2023...

There is still plenty of time to get your own nomination in, WSOP guru Kevin Mather tweeting out the necessary info:

“Nominations for the @WSOP Poker Hall of Fame are now being taken until June 18th. Cast your vote for up to 3 individuals 40 and older at”

Poker Hall of Fame Members:

2021 Eli Elezra
2020 Huck Seed
2019 Chris Moneymaker, David Oppenheim
2018 John Hennigan, Mori Eskandani
2017 Phil Ivey, Dave Ulliott
2016 Todd Brunson, Carlos Mortensen
2015 Jennifer Harman, John Juanda
2014 Jack McClelland, Daniel Negreanu
2013 Tom McEvoy, Scotty Nguyen
2012 Eric Drache, Brian “Sailor” Roberts
2011 Barry Greenstein, Linda Johnson
2010 Dan Harrington, Erik Seidel
2009 Mike sexton
2008 Henry Orenstein, Duane “Dewey” Tomko
2007 Barbara Enright, Phil Hellmuth
2006 Billy Baxter, T.J. Cloutier
2005 Crandell Addington, Jack Binion
2004 Berry Johnston
2003 Bobby Baldwin
2002 Lyle Berman, Johnny Chan
2001 Stu “the Kid” Ungar
1997 Roger Moore
1996 Julius Oral “Little Man” Popwell
1993 Jack Keller
1992 Thomas Austin “Amarillo Slim” Preston
1991 David “Chip” Reese
1990 Benny Binion
1989 Fred “Sarge” Ferris
1988 Doyle Brunson, Jack “Treetops” Strauss
1987 Walter Clyde “Puggy” Pearson
1986 Henry Green
1985 Red Hodges
1984 Murph Harrold
1983 Joe Bernstein
1982 Tom Abdo
1981 Bill Boyd
1980 T “Blondie” Forbes
1979 Nick “The Greek” Dandolos, James Butler “Wild Bill” Hickok, Edmond Hoyle, Johnny Moss, Red Winn, Sid Wyman.

Articles 2282

Andrew from Edinburgh, Scotland, is a professional journalist, international-titled chess master, and avid poker player.Read more


You need to be logged in to post a new comment

No Comments found.