The Greatest Runs Ever in the World Series of Poker

4 weeks ago
12 Nov
Poker has become one of the most popular card games in the world over the last two decades, with millions of players competing for billions of dollars in prize money every year.

And when it comes to poker tournaments, the World Series of Poker (WSOP) is the biggest and most prestigious event of them all.
Since its inception in 1970, the WSOP has crowned hundreds of champions, but some runs have stood out from the rest.

Here are some of the greatest Main Event runs ever seen in the WSOP.

Phil Hellmuth's 1989 Main Event Win

Phil Hellmuth is one of the most successful and polarising figures in the history of poker. He has won a record 16 WSOP bracelets and is known for his brash personality and sometimes controversial behaviour at the table.

But Hellmuth's rise to fame began in 1989 when he won the WSOP Main Event at just 24 years old. It was his first WSOP bracelet and he became the youngest player to ever win the Main Event.

Hellmuth's run to the title was impressive in its own right, but it was the way he did it that made it even more memorable. In the final hand of the tournament, he made a stunning call with just king-high and his opponent, Johnny Chan, was forced to show his bluff.

Hellmuth's celebration after winning the hand became one of the most iconic moments in WSOP history, as he famously exclaimed, "If it weren't for luck, I'd win them all."

Johnny Moss' Three Main Event Wins

Johnny Moss is considered by many to be the godfather of poker. He played in the first WSOP Main Event in 1970 and went on to win it twice more in 1971 and 1974.

Moss was known for his ability to read his opponents, and his early success in the WSOP helped establish the tournament as the premier event in the poker world.

Moss's runs to his Main Event victories were impressive in their own right, but it was his dominance in the early years of the WSOP that set him apart. He won the first two Main Events by a landslide and was widely considered the best player in the world at the time.

Stu Ungar's Back-to-Back Main Event Wins

Stu Ungar is one of the most tragic figures in the history of poker. He won the WSOP Main Event three times (1980, 1981, and 1997), but his back-to-back victories in 1980 and 1981 were particularly impressive. Ungar was known for his incredible skill and his ability to make reads that seemed almost supernatural.

Ungar's 1980 Main Event victory was especially impressive, as he had to overcome a final table that included Doyle Brunson, who would go on to win the Main Event the following year.

Ungar's victory in 1981 was just as impressive, as he defeated a tough field that included Johnny Chan and Berry Johnston.

Doyle Brunson's Consecutive Main Event Wins

Doyle Brunson is one of the all-time greats of poker, and his consecutive Main Event wins in 1976 and 1977 helped cement his status as a legend of the game.

Brunson was known for his aggressive style and his willingness to take risks, and he used those qualities to great effect in his Main Event victories.
In 1976, Brunson overcame a final table that included Jesse Alto and Bobby Hoff to win his first Main Event title.

The following year, he defeated Gary Berland heads-up to win his second title in a row. Brunson's back-to-back victories made him one of the most feared players in the game and helped establish him as one of the all-time greats.