Mikita Badziakouski Wins 2018 Triton SHR Series Montenegro For $2,550,392

2 years ago
Mikita Badziakouski Wins 2018 Triton SHR Series Montenegro For $2,550,392
18 May

The Triton Titan just keeps trucking this week with another massive win at the Super High Roller Series in sunny Montenegro. Though the action may have been in Sveti Stefan, the the final table was an international affair with players from six nations, playing with a buy-in of HKD1,000,000 (about $132k).

There were 63 buy-ins from 39 entrants by the end of the first day; three of which came from Koray Aldemir alone, bringing the total prize pool of HKD59.3 million ($7.55 million) once the vig was extracted.

By time the final table came around plenty of big names had gone to the wall with Phil Ivey, Patrik Antonius, Paul Phua and  Bryn Kenney were all busto before the final nine took their seats. 

Final Table

Which isn’t to say the final nine were small fry. Mikita Badziakouski already had over $6.5 million in live tournament winnings, Rui Cao played the €1 million game the night before, and the defending champ Manig Loeser was in the mix.

Dietrich Fast was slow to bust, but still went first (9th - $249,165). Manig Loeser was the next loser (in 8th for $256,681) and Steve O’Dwyer died in 7th ($294,514). Ivan Leow was running low on chips after running his A-2 into A-T and busted shortly thereafter (6th - $362,410)

After that things speeded up a little. Second big stack Sontheimer was sent home in 5th ($483,171), Chan ran for the rail in 4th ($702,146), and Jetten was jettisoned in 3rd ($1,019,339). Then there were two.

Heads Up

This was Mikita’s third big final table of the year having scooped the HK$80k high roller event on the Macanese leg of the APPT, and 6th in the $25k PCA tour event in January.

Badziakouski had two chips for Cao’s one and pushed his advantage hard. 

Cao was caught bluffing a few hands in and that was all he wrote. Mikita took home the title and another $2.5 million to add to his dragon’s hoard, now over $9.2 million.

(Start from 27:27)

Final Table Results

1 Mikita Badziakouski $2,550,392
2 Rui Cao $1,718,210
3 Peter Jetten $1,040,260
4 Chan Wai Leong $716,560
5 Steffen Sontheimer $493,090
6 Ivan Leow $369,850
7 Steve O’Dwyer $300,560
8 Manig Loeser $261,950
9 Dietrich Fast $254,280

Articles 278

Jon is a freelance writer and novelist who learned to play poker after watching Rounders in year 9. He has been giving away his beer money at cards ever since. Currently he is based in Bristol where he makes sporadic donations to the occasional live tournament or drunken late night Zoom session. He ...Read more


You need to be logged in to post a new comment

No Comments found.