WSOP Under Fire for Lack of Player of the Year Prizes

11 months ago
WSOP Under Fire for Lack of Player of the Year Prizes
16 Jul

The World Series of Poker has come in for some criticism this week over its Player of the Year award, with not a single prize offered for what is considered by many a very prestigious title…

The award is given every year for the player who tops the points leaderboard across the WSOP in Vegas and the European version, the WSOPE, the overall title won last year by Shaun Deeb.

Previously there were reasonably attractive prizes on offer, Main Event seats at 10k apiece and at one point some shiny, new Toyota trucks

Daniel Negreanu, the only two-time winner of PoY in 2004 and 2013, was the recipient of one such prize – but this year, as with the last few, the only prize seems to be a dubious one at best…


Bragging rights, of course, mean quite a bit in the poker world, but with one Australian, one Canadian and eight from the USA currently topping the 2019 race (see below) two weeks in the Kings Casino in Rozvadov might be a stretch too far without some incentive.

1Robert Campbell
2Daniel Zack
3Phillip Hui
4Shaun Deeb
5Daniel Negreanu
6Jason Gooch
7Anthony Zinno
8Chris Ferguson
9Jon Turner
10Scott Clements

Of course the WSOPE was invented partly to balance out the US-centric ‘World Championships’ of poker, and Shaun Deeb made the trip last year to book his Player of the Year title win.

This year? Who knows, but a WSOP incentive would go a long way to persuading the leaders to make the trip – 10 bracelet events in the Czech Republic counting towards the title.

Articles 1906

Andrew from Edinburgh, Scotland, is a professional journalist, international-titled chess master, and avid poker player.Read more


You need to be logged in to post a new comment

No Comments found.