Negreanu & Mateos are Favorites To Win SHRB 2018!?!

3 years ago
Negreanu & Mateos are Favorites To Win SHRB 2018!?!
05 Apr

The Super High Roller Bowl is set for May 27-30 at the Aria and the early odds at Bovada find Daniel Negreanu and Adrian Mateos listed as co-favorites at +1200.

This marks the 4th year of SHRB action, with the tournament serving as a precursor for the annual WSOP, with much of poker's top talent assembling to vie for over $14 million in prize money. The $300,000 entry fee is limited to 48 players, with the winner to take home about $5 million and a SHRB championship ring.

A total of 61 players registered to play, but only 30 of those will get a seat at the table. The other 18 seats will be filled by the Aria (16 seats) and two more to winners of a $10K satellite set for May 26.

A lottery was held to select the 30 players out of the 61 who wanted to participate. Here are the 30 who were awarded a seat and their corresponding odds to win the tournament:

  • Daniel Negreanu +1200
  • Adrian Mateos +1200
  • Stephen Chidwick +1400
  • Justin Bonomo +1500
  • David Peters +1500
  • Koray Aldemir +1500
  • Nick Petrangelo +1500
  • Sergio Aido +1500
  • Nikita Bodyakovskiy +1500
  • Ben Tollerene +1500
  • Isaac Haxton +1500
  • Cary Katz +1500
  • Igor Kurganov+1500
  • Phil Hellmuth +1600
  • Erik Seidel +1800
  • Christian Christner +1800
  • Christoph Vogelsang +1800
  • Kahle Burns +2000
  • Byron Kaverman +2000
  • Markus Dürnegger +2200
  • Keith Tilston +2500
  • John Andress +2500
  • Brian Rast +3300
  • Dan Shak +3300
  • Arne Ruge +3300
  • Andrew Lichtenberger +3300
  • Andrew Robl +3300
  • Talal Shakerchi +4000
  • Andreas Eiler +4000
  • Kathy Lehne +5000

SHRB History

The SHRB debuted in July 2015 with a $500,000 buy-in. A total of 43 players plunked down a half a mil, creating a $21.5 million prize pool. Brian Rast emerged as the champion and earned $7,525,000.

The following year, the buy-in was lowered to $300K and attracted 49 entrants. Rainer Kempe outdueled fellow countryman Fedor Holz for the crown and first place prize money of $5 million. Kempe, incidentally, missed out on the lottery selection this year.

Last year, 56 players were permitted to participate at the same $300K buy-in. The lion's share of the $16.8 million prize pool went to champion Christoph Vogelsang, who boosted his bankroll by $6 million with the victory.

The players chosen by Aria for the remaining 16 seats will be revealed in days to come. We may see a celebrity or two among the chosen players, such as comedian Kevin Hart, who played in last year's SHRB.

Articles 834

Charles is a Chicago native and long time poker player who dusted off his journalism degree and began writing about poker following the events of Black Friday in 2011. He has written for a number of leading poker websites, offering his insights and expertise on subjects ranging from online poker leg...Read more


You need to be logged in to post a new comment

No Comments found.